Anahata or heart chakra

Anahata or heart chakra

Posted on Jan 22, 2023

Anahata or heart chakra

The location of the heart chakra is at the top of the thymus gland in the centre of the chest (behind the sternum). This chakra is known in Sanskrit as Anahata, which translates to "infinite," "unharmed," or "boundless." The heart connects the lower triangle (the root, sacral, and solar plexus chakras) to the upper triangle (the crown, brow, and third eye chakras) (throat, third eye and crown chakras).

Simply put, "Anahata" means "heart opening."


Anahata chakra corresponds to the element of air. Everything revolves around a sense of boundless expanse, like that of the sky. It's the entrance to the infinite part of ourselves, the inner temple, the soul. Here, we can forget about ourselves and the outside world.

The Human Body:

A thymus, a heart, lungs, arms, and hands.

Body of Feelings:

Intuitive self-love is associated with the heart chakra. being equally capable of giving and receiving (love). Having warm, fuzzy feelings toward oneself and other people. Taking the 'we' perspective rather than taking things personally. Having a strong sense of community and relying on your gut instincts.

Psychology and the Physical Form:

As a giver, I don't need anything in return. I have plenty, and I know how to take care of myself by saying "no." I have the ability to let go and let the chips fall where they may, and my life is harmonious on all levels.



Stress on any level of the body (physical, mental, emotional, or energetic) can cause that level to shut down, stagnate, or go into overdrive, as we've seen in previous chakra articles (see below).

Feelings of isolation and alienation, of not fitting in, of not belonging, are all symptoms of a blocked or imbalanced heart chakra. It's possible to internalise the belief that you're unlovable if you've grown up in an unloving home or been in a long-term abusive relationship. The result could be a lack of warmth, either for oneself or for others. At the other extreme, this trait could lead to an excessive desire to please others by engaging in any activity that might gain them praise or favour.

Resentment is another emotion that can cause an imbalance in this chakra. When someone causes you deep emotional pain, it goes straight to your heart. If you can't let go and forgive, bitterness and resentment will weigh you down (a heavy heart). Mentally, we may be ready to let go, but emotionally, we may be unable to break free of our negative emotions, beliefs, or routines.


The Fourth Chakra: A Checklist

Do you think it's possible to give and receive with equal grace?

Does your inner core feel open and free?

Is there gratitude in your heart?

Do you get the impression that all life on earth is interconnected in some way?

Can you set limits while remaining loving?

Do you still feel connected to your innocence?

Can you treat another person with kindness and compassion, despite your disagreements, because you see in them a reflection of yourself?

Do you have the capacity to extend forgiveness to both yourself and those around you?


Activities on and off the mat can help you maintain a healthy third eye chakra.


Anahata chakra yoga postures:

For me, the best way to maintain a healthy energy flow is to practise specific yoga poses like:


Ustrasana (camel pose) (camel pose)

Bhujangasana (cobra pose) (cobra pose)

Position your hands on your knees and flex your spine.

Awakenings of the heart (yin)

Camatkarasana (Wild Thing) (Wild Thing)


Recommended meditations for the Anahata chakra:

Green is the colour associated with this chakra, so focus on it as you unwind and centre yourself.

Send out positive sound waves by singing mantras.

The Kundalini bija mantra is the sound HUM. You can achieve the same results by chanting HUM as you would OM, only more repeatedly. Or you could try using your breath: as you inhale, let the sound SO vibrate through your body; as you exhale, let the sound HUM do the same. I AM THAT is the meaning of this potent mantra. All of this is a reflection of the ultimate truth that we are one. You could also say the Kundalini phrase ONG SOHUNG, which means the same thing.

Padma Mudra (Lotus Mudra):

Sit comfortably cross-legged, with your spine straight. Raise your hands so that they're at chest level; then, with your fingertips and palms touching but your palms apart, your fingers should form an open lotus. Think about the void within you, imagine yourself so hollow and open that the wind can easily pass right through you in your meditation. having nothing to cling to, being unconstrained by any external form.

The heart chakra represents the elements of air and space.

They lead us to our inner infinity, but only if we are willing to overcome the illusions of physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual confines. Asana practise that focuses on the heart chakra is a beautiful way to start the process of opening the heart on all these levels. As we work on the body, areas of tightness and stagnation will become more apparent. The freedom to sit with whatever arises, observe it without judgement, and then consciously let it go is a priceless gift, and so is the insight into the deeper lessons, meanings, and connections of all that arises.